This is the website of Abulsme Noibatno Itramne (also known as Sam Minter). Comments here or emails to me at abulsme@abulsme.com are encouraged... or follow me on Twitter as @abulsme.

Categories

Calendar

September 2010
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Alex Birthday Calculation

Non-geeks might just say Alex’s birthday is September 12th and be done with it, but of course I can’t do that, I have to be a bit more specific. So here is the calculation…
  • Date and time Alex was born: 12 Sep 2009 at 16:39 UTC (9:39 AM Pacific, 12:39 PM Eastern)
  • Converting to a Julian date using a Julian Date Calculator gives: 2455087.19375
  • Adding 1 year (365.242199 days) gives the Julian Date when Alex is exactly 1 year old: 2455452.435949
  • Converting back to a normal date using the same Julian Date Calculator gives:
  • 12 Sep 2009 at 22:27 UTC (3:27 PM Pacific, 6:27 PM Eastern)

Hey look, that is later today!

Specifically, that will be exactly 12 hours from the time of this post. I’m sure I’ll make another post in 12 hours when Alex *actually* hits the milestone, but consider this an early preview. At 3:27 PM Pacific, 6:27 PM Eastern, Alex will be one year old. Gulp, our little boy is just a few hours away from being a whole year old! Unbelievable. It can’t possibly have been that long…

4 comments to Alex Birthday Calculation

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.